Robinson's Bomb Lifts Redlegs Past Thunder


The Redlegs took care of business in the night cap, winning it 9-5 to set a new franchise record in wins by finishing 17-10.

Zach Carroll took the hill in this one and turned in a solid performance, going 6 innings while allowing 4 earned with a strike out. The offense got behind Carroll right away as they took the early lead by scoring once in the bottom of the 1st. Jackson Millard was hit by a pitch with one out and moved to third on a single from Jacob Robinson. Brandon Howard then knocked Millard in for the game’s first run.

The Thunder then tied things up in the top of 3rd and then took a 4-1 in the top of the 4th. The Redlegs responded in the bottom half of the 4th with 3 runs of their own. The inning started poorly for the Redlegs after a walk and a ground ball double play, but then Matt Redman and Jared Bradley each singled and Matt Morrison drew a walk to load the bases. Jackson Millard then cleared the bases with a triple. The Redlegs then put things away in the very next inning, as they scored 4 more times to push the lead to 8-4. Brandon Howard, Kyle Arend, and Brad Clark all singled with no outs and Brandon Howard scored on a throwing error. James Robinson then blasted his first homer of the 2014 season over the left field fence to bring the remaining 3 runs home.

Each team scored another run in the 6th before a quiet 7th. Andy Evans tossed the 7th for the Redlegs and picked up 2 K’s in the scoreless inning. Zach Carroll who had just exited the mound, led things off in the 6th for the Redlegs with a single, but then was injured on a stolen base. Kevin Campbell entered to run and later scored on an RBI single from Jacob Robinson.

The Redlegs earned the 4th seed in the MVABL playoffs and will have a first round bye before playing the 5th seeded South Dayton Slammers on September 6th at Miami Middletown’s field in Monroe. The Redlegs got the best of the Slammers in 2014, going 2-0 against them in a double header back June. The Slammers are ahead since the Redlegs formed in 2010 though as they’ve bested the Redlegs in 9 out of 17 contests.


M Morrison20102
J Millard31130
J Robinson43010
B Howard44110
K Arend41100
B Clark41100
J Robinson22131
J McCurdy32000
M Redman21100
J Bradley31100
K Breeden10000
Z Carroll11000
K Campbell00100

HR: Robinson

Z Carroll (W)6115411
A Evans 110020