Redlegs Ride Campbell's Arm in Game 1 Win


After each team earned a first round bye, the Redlegs and Slammers met in the second round of the 2014 MVABL playoffs on Sunday. The last time these two teams played in the post season was 2011 where the Slammers pulled out a series victory in 3 games. The Slammers were looking to repeat that result and had a leg up right away as they sent potential MVABL Cy Young candidate Justin Wentworth to the mound in the series opener. The Redlegs sent veteran Kevin Campbell to the bump to oppose Wentworth and the two quickly engaged in a terrific pitcher’s duel as they both turned in complete game efforts.

The Redlegs jumped on Wentworth right away. After Campbell got out of a bases loaded jam in the top of the 1st, the offense got behind him and put 3 runs on the board in the bottom half. Matt Morrsion worked a walked to lead off the frame and advanced to 3rd when Jackson Millard doubled. Jacob Robinson then singled Morrison in for the first run. Later with the bases loaded, Brad Clark drove a 1 out line drive right back up the middle to score two more runs. Wentworth then killed the rally by inducing an ending inning double play.

Campbell got a little defensive help in the 2nd. With 1 out Jack Zabrowski hit a shallow pop fly in foul territory that looked like it might fall between Campbell, catcher Kyle Arend, and 3rd basemen Brad Clark. Arend made a twisting diving catch just before it landed to record the out. The Redlegs scored again in the 3rd. Jacob Robinson lead off with a single and later came around to score when Justin McCurdy hit a ground ball to the right side. The Slammers almost turned a double play but McCurdy was able to beat it out allowing the run to count. Wentworth settled in after the 3rd and allowed nothing more to the Redleg offense through the game.

Four runs is all Campbell would need. He was able to keep the Slammers hitters off balance throughout the game as he allowed only 7 hits and 1 unearned run. He struck out 3 in the effort.


M Morrison31101
J Millard31100
J Robinson32210
B Howard22001
K Arend30000
B Clark32020
J McCurdy30010
M Mattice30000
Z Carroll21001

2B: Millard

K Campbell (W)771033